Q. What is the federal University?

A. The University is a federation consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.


To top

Q. What is the central University?

A. The University has a number of acclaimed central academic Institutes and activities, often collectively referred to as the central University.

To top

Q. Who is the Chancellor of the University of London?

A. Her Royal Highness, the Princess Royal, is Chancellor of the University.  The Vice-Chancellor is Professor Sir Adrian Smith.

To top

Q. When was the University established?

A. The University was established in 1836, making it one of the oldest universities in this country.

To top

Q. Is the University publicly or privately funded?

A. The University is publicly funded with additional support from donors. The University is an 'exempt' charity.

To top

Contact Us

University of London
Senate House
Malet Street


+44 (0)20 7862 8000

Ask a question



Colleges and Institutes of the University of London