Statutory Officers

HRH, The Princess Royal

Statutory Officers

Statutes 5, 6 and 7 define the three statutory officers of the University:

The Visitor is the Sovereign acting through the President of the Council. In the past, the Visitor could be petitioned to determine disputes arising between the University and its members. Since the Higher Education Act 2004, the Visitor’s jurisdiction is limited to adjudicating on the interpretation and application of the University’s Charter, Statutes and Ordinances, provided the point at issue is neither a student complaint nor an employment dispute. Further information can be found at the website of the Privy Council .

The Chancellor
Since 1981 the Chancellor has been Her Royal Highness, The Princess Royal . The Chancellor is the titular head of the University, and presides over Foundation Day each year.

The Vice-Chancellor
The Vice-Chancellor is the principal officer of the University and is responsible to the Board of Trustees for the organisation and conduct of the business of the University. The Vice-Chancellor is Professor Sir Adrian Smith.

Contact Us

University of London
Senate House
Malet Street


+44 (0)20 7862 8000

Ask a question


Colleges and Institutes of the University of London