You are here:

University Governance

The University of London is incorporated by Royal Charter granted on 6 January 1863 and governed by the University of London Act 2018 (which received Royal Assent on 20 December 2018) and its Statutes and Ordinances. The 2018 Act replaces the University of London Act 1994, which is now repealed. The University was originally incorporated by Royal Charter on 28 November 1836. 

Our governing body is the Board of Trustees and our principal officer is the Vice-Chancellor. The following sections outline our corporate governance structures: