Skip to main content

Collegiate Council

The Collegiate Council will provide advice and recommendations to the Board of Trustees on how the University supports the interests of the federation members in pursuit of its charitable objects which are: for the public benefit, to promote education of a university standard and the advancement of knowledge and learning by teaching and research; and to encourage the achievement and maintenance of the highest academic standards.

The Collegiate Council has a particular focus on ensuring the University continues to meet its strategic objectives to serve, support and add value to its federation members. 

Collegiate Council Members:


  • The Vice-Chancellor (Professor Wendy Thomson)

Deputy Chair

  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Professor David Latchman)

Heads of Federation Members

  • Professor Sally Wheeler, OBE, Birkbeck, University of London
  • Professor Sir Anthony Finkelstein, CBE, City, University of London
  • Professor Mark Hallett, Märit Rausing Director, The Courtauld Institute of Art
  • Professor Frances Corner, Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Professor Kristian Helin, The Institute of Cancer Research
  • Professor Shitij Kapur, King’s College London
  • Mr François Ortalo-Magné, London Business School
  • Professor Larry Kramer, The London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Professor Liam Smeeth, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Colin Bailey, Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, Royal Academy of Music
  • Josette Bushell-Mingo OBE, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • Professor Julie Sanders, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Professor Stuart Reid, The Royal Veterinary College
  • Professor Adam Habib, SOAS University of London
  • Professor Jenny Higham, St George’s, University of London
  • Dr Michael Spence AC, UCL

The functions and constitution of the Collegiate Council are set out in University Ordinance 4. The University is currently reviewing its Statutes and Ordinances ,and this Ordinance is subject to change.