Skip to main content

Membership announced for “Committee on the Future of Commonwealth Studies” at University of London


The University of London has confirmed the membership of a Committee to conduct an inquiry into the future of Commonwealth Studies at the University. 

The creation of the Committee, to be chaired by Sir Malcolm Rifkind, the former UK Foreign Secretary, was announced late last year following consultation about the future of the Institute of Commonwealth Studies at the University’s School of Advanced Study.

Sir Malcolm commented:

I am delighted that we have a Committee that could not be more experienced and committed to the welfare of the Commonwealth. We look forward to providing the University of London with our conclusions and recommendations on the future of Commonwealth Studies at the University.

The full membership of the Committee is 

  • Sir Malcolm Rifkind (Chair) - Former United Kingdom Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
  • Lord Boateng - Former British High Commissioner to South Africa
  • Dr Anne Therese Gallagher, AO - Director General: Commonwealth Foundation
  • Dr Nabeel Goheer - Assistant Secretary-General, The Commonwealth Secretariat
  • Professor Asha Kanwar- President and CEO: Commonwealth of Learning
  • Mr Michael Kirby AC CMG - Former Justice of the High Court of Australia
  • Lord Luce - Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Buckingham
  • Dr Joanna Newman - Chief Executive and Secretary General: The Association of Commonwealth Universities
  • Sir Ronald Sanders  - Ambassador of Antigua and Barbuda to the United States
  • Mr Stephen Twigg - Secretary-General: Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

Announcing the establishment of a Committee in December, Professor Wendy Thomson, Vice-Chancellor of the University of London said:

Over the last two months we’ve met with a range of stakeholders with Commonwealth affiliations who have shown a renewed interest in the future of the Institute and a commitment to supporting the study of the modern Commonwealth at the University. Sir Malcolm and the Committee will be able to explore a range of new and exciting partnerships.

The Committee will have three key objectives:

  1. To consider future provision at the University of London for Commonwealth Studies in terms of focus, purpose, structure and functions
  2. To recommend partnerships to support scholarship in this area and ensure its relevance and impact;
  3. To identify potential viable sources of sustainable funding beyond the University and short-term research grants.

The Committee will invite submissions from interested organisations and individuals. These can be submitted directly to the Committee via its secretary, Dr Conor Wyer: The Committee hopes to conclude its work by the end of June of this year.