Skip to main content

Vice-Chancellor Wendy Thomson joins Association of Commonwealth Universities Council


The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) has announced that University of London Vice-Chancellor Wendy Thomson CBE has been appointed to its governing body, the Council, for a three-year term from 1 August. The appointment follows a competitive nomination and election process.

She joins five other university vice-chancellors from across the Commonwealth as new members of the 23-member ACU Council, including Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo (Covenant University, Nigeria), Professor Sir Hilary Beckles (The University of the West Indies, Jamaica), Professor Barney Glover (The University of Western Sydney, Australia), Senior Professor Sudantha Liyanage (University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka), and Professor Dato' Ir Dr Mohd Hamdi Abd Shukor (University of Malaya, Malaysia).

The ACU Council is the ACU's governing body, responsible for overseeing the organisation's activities, determining its future strategic direction, and ensuring compliance with laws and governance procedures. 

"I am delighted to have been selected by my peers to serve as a member of the ACU Council," Wendy Thomson said. "I look forward to helping the ACU achieve its vision of a world in which higher education transcends borders, strengthens societies, fosters innovation, and lifts the lives of people throughout the Commonwealth and beyond."

"Bringing their collective experience leading some of the world’s most innovative universities, our Council members contribute a vast wealth of perspectives and insights to drive the strategic direction of the ACU for the benefit of our members," said Joanna Newman, ACU Chief Executive and Secretary General. "I look forward to working with our new Council members to further drive the success of the ACU’s programmes and initiatives, tackle global challenges, and continue to advance the role of higher education across the Commonwealth."