Skip to main content

Recognition and accreditation of prior learning for Supply Chain Management and Global Logistics

If you already hold qualifications with similar learning outcomes to our Supply Chain Management and Global Logistics modules, you can apply for your prior learning to be recognised and accredited.

This process is called Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL). If this is successful, you will not need to study those modules to complete your award. Available for the following courses:

  • Supply Chain Management (MSc, PGDip, PGCert)
  • Supply Chain Analytics (PGCert)
  • Strategic Supply Chain Management (PGCert)

The rules for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) are described in the Supply Chain Management and Global Logistics Programme Regulations and Section 3 of the General Regulations. 

  • MSc - You may apply for RPL mapped against modules up to a total of 120 UK credits 
  • Postgraduate Diploma (PGDip) - you may apply for RPL up to 60 UK credits. 
  • Postgraduate Certificate (PGCert) - you may apply for RPL up to 30 UK credits. 
  • RPL will not be considered for the Final Project. 

You can apply for automatic or discretionary RPL. 

For your prior learning to be considered, you must be eligible to study the programme and have completed the whole of the qualification/ examination(s), on which the application for RPL is based on, within the five years preceding the RPL application. 

We will not award RPL for a module later than 14 days after the module start date. You will be deemed to have started a module once you have been given access to the learning materials on the VLE.

Please note that eligibility for a professional designation may require passing all modules of our MSc with no modules being exempt, compensated or condoned. Please check the eligibility criteria of the professional designation you aim to apply for.

Discretionary RPL 

You may apply for RPL based on a discretionary basis- this is where your qualifications are considered on a case by case basis. You will need to satisfy the University that you have covered a similar syllabus, as part of a previous qualification, at the same level, depth and breadth. 

A formal application is required and an RPL application fee is payable. The RPL application fee is non-refundable, even if your prior learning is not recognised. 

To be considered for RPL, your qualification(s) must be at the appropriate level (usually equivalent to a UK Level 7/ postgraduate qualification or above) and must have been completed within the five years preceding your RPL application. 

For your discretionary RPL request to be processed, you will need to: provide a completed RPL request form, the supporting documentary evidence (normally a scanned copy of an official transcript and syllabus of your previous studies) and the discretionary RPL fee. 

Please note: To process your discretionary RPL request, the RPL application must be submitted and all supporting evidence provided before the deadlines stated, in the session that you apply. The discretionary RPL deadlines are on the course webpage. 

We are unable to give advice on discretionary RPL until a formal application has been considered fully by specialist academics. 

Automatic RPL 

There are certain qualifications which we will recognise and accredit automatically. They have already been assessed and are considered by the University to have similar learning outcomes to our modules. 

Automatic RPL applications are free of charge. 

If you satisfy the conditions and have passed the relevant listed qualification(s) in full within the five years preceding your RPL application, we will award RPL as detailed in the list below. You will need to: make a formal application and provide the necessary documentary evidence (such as a scanned copy of the relevant certificate/ transcript).

List of awarding bodies and qualifications recognised