Skip to main content

Recognition and accreditation of prior learning for undergraduate degrees in business administration

If you already hold qualifications with similar learning outcomes to our business administration modules, you can apply for your prior learning to be recognised and accredited. This process is called Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL). If this is successful, you will not need to study those modules to complete your award.

Available for the following courses:

  • BSc Business Administration
  • BSc Business Administration with Human Resource Management
  • BSc Business Administration with International Business

The rules for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) are described in the Undergraduate Business Administration with pathways Programme Regulations and Section 3 of the General Regulations.

You may apply for RPL mapped against modules up to a total of 240 UK credits.
You can apply for RPL for up to four (120 credits) of the following Stage 1 courses (each worth 30 credits):

  • Foundations of quantitative methods for sustainable organisations [BA1510]
  • Interpreting management, market and consumption [BA1520]
  • Information systems and organisation studies [BA1530]
  • International business and accounting [BA1540]

And you can also:

Apply for RPL for up to four (120 credits) of the following Stage 2 courses (each worth 30 credits):

  • Employability and human resource management [BA2510]
  • Strategic management and accounting [BA2520]
  • Operations management and marketing strategy [BA2530]
  • Managing organisational change and performance [BA2540]
  • Marketing research and digital marketing [BA2550]
  • The global economy and multinational enterprise [BA2560]

You can apply for automatic or discretionary RPL.

For your prior learning to be considered, you must be eligible to study the programme and have completed the whole of the qualification/ examination(s), on which the application for RPL is based on, within the five years preceding the RPL application.

Discretionary RPL

You may apply for RPL based on a discretionary basis- this is where your qualifications are considered on a case by case basis. You will need to satisfy the University that you have covered a similar syllabus, as part of a previous qualification, at the same level, content and standard.

A formal application is required and an RPL application fee is payable. The RPL application fee is non-refundable, even if your prior learning is not recognised. See course fees for more information.

To be considered for RPL, your qualification(s) must be at the appropriate level (equivalent to a UK Level 4 qualification or above) and must have been completed within the five years preceding your RPL application.

For your discretionary RPL request to be processed, you will need to: provide a completed RPL request form, the supporting documentary evidence (normally a scanned copy of an official transcript and syllabus of your previous studies) and the discretionary RPL fee.

Please note: To process your discretionary RPL request, the RPL application must be submitted and all supporting evidence provided before the deadlines stated, in the session that you apply. The discretionary RPL deadlines are on the course webpage – BSc Business Administration (study locally).

We are unable to give advice on discretionary RPL until a formal application has been considered fully by specialist academics.

Automatic RPL

There are certain qualifications which we will recognise and accredit automatically. They have already been assessed and are considered by the University to have similar learning outcomes to our modules. Automatic RPL applications are free of charge.

If you satisfy the conditions and have passed the relevant listed qualification(s) in full within the five years preceding your RPL application, we will award RPL as detailed in the list below.

You will need to: make a formal application and provide the necessary documentary evidence (such as a scanned copy of the relevant certificate/ transcript).

The University reserves the right not to award RPL if the qualification of the respective professional body or institution changes after the publication of this list.

This table is only for students registered on the BSc Business Administration online taught degree programmes:

List of awarding bodies and qualifications recognised for Automatic RPL