Skip to main content

Recognition and accreditation of prior learning for undergraduate degrees in computing

If you hold qualifications with similar learning outcomes to our Computing and Information Systems and Creative Computing modules, you can apply for your prior learning to be recognised and accredited. This process is called Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).  If this is successful, you will not need to study those modules to complete your award. 

RPL is available for current students of the following courses: 

  • BSc Computing and Information systems 
  • BSc Creative Computing 

Please note: Unfortunately, the BSc Computing and Information Systems and Creative Computing programmes are no longer available for new applications to study these courses.  

The rules for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) are described in the Computing and Information Systems and creative Computing Programme Regulations and Section 3 of the General Regulations. 

  • BSc - You may apply for RPL mapped against modules up to a total of 120 UK credits. You may be approved for up to four full courses at Levels 4 and 5 (first and second-year level courses), with a maximum of two at Level 5. 
  • RPL will not be considered for the Certificate of Higher Education (CertHE). 

You can apply for automatic or discretionary RPL. 

For your prior learning to be considered, you must be eligible to study the programme and have completed the whole of the qualification/ examination(s), on which the application for RPL is based on, within the five years preceding the RPL application. 

We cannot usually consider an application for RPL for a particular module if you have already registered or entered assessment for that module. 

Discretionary RPL 

You may apply for RPL based on a discretionary basis- this is where your qualifications are considered on a case by case basis. You will need to satisfy the University that you have covered a similar syllabus, as part of a previous qualification, at the same level, depth and breadth. 

A formal application is required and an RPL application fee is payable. The RPL application fee is non-refundable, even if your prior learning is not recognised. 

To be considered for RPL, your qualification(s) must be at the appropriate level (equivalent to a UK Level 4 qualification or above) and must have been completed within the five years preceding your RPL application. 

For your discretionary RPL request to be processed, you will need to: provide a completed RPL request form, the supporting documentary evidence (normally a scanned copy of an official transcript and syllabus of your previous studies) and the discretionary RPL fee. 

Please note: all discretionary requests must be submitted by 01 October in the year that you apply. Once submitted, we must receive all required evidence to support your application by 15 October in the year that you apply. 

Any qualification you wish us to consider for the forthcoming academic year should be awarded before 1 October. 

We are unable to give advice on discretionary RPL until a formal application has been considered fully by specialist academics. 

Automatic RPL 

There are certain qualifications which we will recognise and accredit automatically. They have already been assessed and are considered by the University to have similar learning outcomes to our modules. 

Automatic RPL applications are free of charge. 

If you satisfy the conditions and have passed the relevant listed qualification(s) in full within the five years preceding your RPL application, we will award RPL as detailed in the list below. You will need to: make a formal application and provide the necessary documentary evidence (such as a scanned copy of the relevant certificate/ transcript).  

The University reserves the right not to award RPL if the qualification of the respective professional body or institution changes after the publication of this list.

List of awarding bodies and qualifications recognised for Automatic RPL